Skip to main content Skip to main content

President’s Advisory Panel on University Namings and Recognitions

Upcoming Meetings

Wednesday, February 14th
9:00 – 10:30 a.m.
Turnbull Conference Center
Room 103

Florida State University President John Thrasher announced the creation of a panel of university students, faculty, staff, administrators and alumni to examine and make recommendations on current university policies concerning campus names and markers, including statues and other recognitions.

The creation of the panel follows Thrasher’s condemnation of August’s violent acts by white supremacists in Charlottesville, Va., and his pledge to the FSU community to protect free speech while ensuring the safety and well-being of students, faculty and staff.

The panel is charged with researching the issues, meeting and engaging with university constituencies to seek input and feedback, determining criteria for appropriate naming policies and making any other recommendations deemed necessary.

FSU Community Input and Feedback

University Constituencies are encouraged to submit input and feedback for the panel’s consideration by using the space provided below. All submissions will remain anonymous, however, we ask that you please review the various options made available in the drop-down menu, and select the one that most accurately describes your role within the FSU community.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

The 15-member panel of university students, faculty, staff and alumni will examine and review current university policies concerning campus names and markers, including statues and other recognitions.

Panel Chair

Renisha Gibbs

Associate Vice President for Human Resources and Finance and Administration Chief of Staff


Panel Members

Norman Anderson


Karen Bearor


Kyle Doney


Lane Forsman


Miguel Hernandez


Kyle Hill


Robyn Jackson


Maxine Jones


Andrew Melville


Maxine Montgomery


Walter Moore

Faculty (retired)

Chris Pinango


Janet Stoner


Allisson Yu



Panel Staff Support

Elizabeth Hirst

President’s Deputy Chief of Staff

Danni Staats

HR Specialist,
Office of Human Resources